GOAT CHEESE AND LAVENDER CHEESECAKE

My lavender bushes are my pride and joy – mainly because I don’t have to do a damn thing about them while they go about their business of flourishing, flowering and keeping me perpetually supplied with lavender that finds its way into sachets, bath salts and food. At a time when dried lavender became too expensive at the Farmer’s Market, I would just chop mine and take it to work.

While scouring the net recently, as one does when one feels particularly idle, I came across Madame Croquette (how adorable a name is it?). Among various interesting meat dishes – you might have surmised Madame Croquette is a blog dedicated to food – some lavender and orange zest cookies stood out, also because of the lovely photograph. One or two comments later about the usage of lavender in food, I mentioned my goat cheese and lavender cheesecake, that I eventually took off the menu because I was so sick and tired of making it. Nonetheless, I thought I would share it with you.

RECIPE – Yields 1 10” round (with some batter left over for a couple of little ones)

10 oz Mascarpone cheese, softened

10 oz Cream cheese, softened

10 oz Goat cheese, softened

1 3/4 C Sugar

4 T Dried Lavender

10 oz Eggs (about 5)

1 oz Lemon Juice

1 oz Lavender Syrup (optional – available at specialty stores and online)

2 1/2 ts Vanilla Extract

3 # Sour Cream

  1. Process lavender and sugar in a food processor and then sift to remove the larger pieces of lavender. Set aside
  2. Places cheeses and lavender sugar in the bowl of a mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment and mix on low-medium speed (you don’t want to incorporate too much air). Scrape the sides often and mix until combined.
  3. Combine eggs and vanilla extract. Add to the cheese batter in 3 separate additions, scraping the bowl well in between.
  4. Add sour cream and mix just until incorporated.
  5. Pour batter in a 10” cake pan with removable bottom, over a graham crust if desired.
  6. Wrap bottom of pan in foil and place in a roasting pan. Add hot water to reach one-third of the side of the cheesecake pan.
  7. Bake at 325 for about one hour or until the center looks set.
  8. Let cool and then refrigerate for about 8 hours before unfolding.

2 Comments

Filed under baking, food

2 responses to “GOAT CHEESE AND LAVENDER CHEESECAKE

  1. Katie

    How much sour cream? I don’t know what a # of sour cream is.

Leave a comment