DUTCH FOOD REDEEMED

While we are on the theme of breakfast, I would like to pay homage to my friend Jeanie whom I invited for breakfast while she was visiting from Portland and promptly took over the kitchen and suggested we made a Dutch Baby. A what? I had never heard of a Dutch Baby before and I am quite sure this dish did not originate in Holland at all. But, having disparaged Dutch food in one of my previous posts, if you have any evidence to the contrary, please let me know.

This is extremely simple to make, looks impressive and feeds 4 to 6. The traditional way of eating it is with some lemon juice and a sprinkle of powder sugar but you can be inventive, pour maple syrup or a berry compote. All you need to make it is a blender, preferably a cast iron skillet or a deep-frying pan.

RECIPE

1/3 C Sugar

2 ts Lemon zest, grated

3 Eggs

2/3 C Milk

2/3 C AP Flour

1/4 ts Vanilla Extract

1/8 ts Cinnamon

1/8 ts Nutmeg

1/8 ts Salt

2 oz Butter, cut into cubes

  1. Pre-heat oven to 450F and put the skillet in the oven to warm.
  2. Combine sugar and zest.
  3. Put the eggs in a blender and blend until frothy, then add milk, flour, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt and blend until smooth. The batter will be thin.
  4. Take the skillet out of the oven and put the butter in it, swirling to coat. Add batter and immediately put the skillet back in the oven.
  5. Bake until the Dutch Baby is puffed up and golden brown, about 20/25 mins.
  6. Serve immediately with a topping of your choice.

PS A powerful storm is sweeping through Southern California today and we have been without electricity for many hours. The gales are blowing, the rain is pelting hard but I braved the elements, drove downhill and found an internet connection so I could post.

Now I am rushing back to my dark house and my dogs. Hopefully I won’t be reading with a candle tonight!!


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

