ADVENTURES IN LALA LAND – MALIBU HINDU TEMPLE

The roof of the Temple

Malibu is gorgeous this time of  year. The heavy rains of the past few months have transformed the brownish hills into verdant slopes, the cascades of Bougainvillea are blooming and the air is crystalline. Hard to fathom that, in a few months, the hills will be a tinge of burnt brown, the beaches packed and the traffic a long caterpillar snaking on PCH.

I meandered along Malibu Canyon many times before, mainly to escape traffic or trying to get home faster when the 101 just doesn’t yield but, somehow, I never noticed the white structure peeping through some trees off Las Virgenes Canyon Road. On closer inspection, it looks as if a giant helicopter had lifted an Indian Temple from the Punjabi and deposited it on the Malibu Hills, carvings and colorful gods et al.

Armed with curiosity, I pull over on a glorious Monday morning and roll through a rusty gate where I notice quite a few cars are  parked. The white structure is incongruous because unexpected but, once inside, a feeling of peace, if not of welcome, is hard to miss. Shoes are left outside – I hadn’t thought of it – and now it’s my suede boots that look incongruous next to a long line of slip-on sandals. A couple is taking a photo at the entrance and it doesn’t take long to notice I am the only non-Indian around – most women wear colorful saris or shalwar kameez but nobody makes a fuss of my red jeans (really, what was I thinking?).

The entrance

I seem to have stumbled upon a service. Up the stairs, I enter a wide courtyard which contains a square room where the service is taking place: incense wafts out with repetitive chants. I peer inside where a small community of diverse people stand listening to the chanting monk.

The welcoming party

The perimeter of the courtyard is dotted by 4 small structures, all topped with the same ornate carvings that form the roofs of the temple. Inside each one is the figure of a different god: Lakshmi, Bhodevi, Krishna and Hanuman, my favourite, the monkey-god whose legs span continents. I was always drawn to Indian mythology and, amongst all religions, the Hindu one is by far the most imaginative, with a pantheon of benign gods and goddesses in colorful attire, always up to all sorts of adventures.

One of the carvings

A very large monk enrobed in a toga-like garment is going from one god to the next, offering prayers, incense, fresh water and flower petals. Some devotees follow him, praying and drawing the incense smoke towards their faces. A woman is walking wide circles in the courtyard, muttering prayers to herself, a shapeless form clad in orange and gold that disappears and reappears between the altars. The chanting and the smells are very soothing and I would like to sit for a while, but nobody is sitting and I don’t wish to be the offending outsider.

One of the smaller structures

I am told that on week-ends, a canteen offers vegetarian Indian food and all are welcome. When I pull out of the parking lot, I notice the large monk leaving through the rusted gate in a Porsche Cayenne. Maybe I should have left Hanuman an offering…

Laksmi's temple

4 Comments

Filed under Los Angeles, Travel

4 responses to “ADVENTURES IN LALA LAND – MALIBU HINDU TEMPLE

  1. Hi Claudia,
    If I did not know that you are in LA Ca, I might think that you are travelling in India :). Those structures are incredible, right? They recall me about The Taj Maha. I’ve never been there but I have heard about the legend under the white marble since I was a child and so curious that immediately searched its images on the Internet.
    Thank you for such a nice post. You seem to be an interesting woman living a colourful life.
    I will keep reading your posts.
    Vans.

  2. sue

    HA – looks nothing like the ones in India.

    • yep, nothing similar.
      But it “recalls”.

      • sue

        Hey Vanessa – sorry hon, wasn’t meaning to criticise you at all. The Accidental Chef and I are going to India in January and I was giving her a little laugh about how ramshackle the temples are over there … certainly nothing as well preserved as this one. But memorable in their own way
        I love that you read my best friend’s blog! Keep doing it – it means a lot to her
        xxx
        SUE

Leave a Reply

