IT’S THE LITTLE THINGS

Periodically I need to be reminded how wonderful my life is and why I have few reasons to complain. By now, you know I am not a big fan of feel good books or self-help anything, preferring to trust my intelligence and my own pulse of the situation rather than Oprah’s but, when the going gets a little bit tougher than usual, I make lists of what made me smile over the arc of the last couple of days.

 

  1. My new neighbours came over for dinner (and they did love the eggplant, by the way) and they brought me a plant. That made me smile because I am in the process of beautifying my yard and I have a collection of empty pots that need lodgers. I have no idea what the plant is, but it has pretty pink flowers and can withstand hours of relentless sun.
  2. Ottie, my gourmet dog, keeps on eating with an appetite that would rival a black bear attacking a campsite.
  3. I found a rare deal at Wholefoods on organic strawberries, which I grabbed and made jam with and now my kitchen smells like Strawberry Fields.
  4. My friend L is back from New Mexico so we can start resuming our daily kvetching.
  5. I woke up in the middle of the night and found Portia had broken into my office, grabbed a white rabbit and was now sleeping with it. Possibly a sign I am too close to my dogs, but it made me smile anyway.
  6. I went to re-read the beginning of a book I started writing a while ago and it was surprisingly better than I expected.

If I skim through the surface, I am sure I can find more cause for celebration but nobody needs that much happiness. Have a good week!

1 Comment

Filed under women's issues

One response to “IT’S THE LITTLE THINGS

  1. ci

    why were the going getting a little bit tougher than usual in that particular week?

Leave a Reply

