HOME MADE DOG TREATS

Dogs are coming to tea

Today my friend Lin made me feel better about slaving at the stove for the mighty Ottie. Apparently, I am not alone in this madness and she sent me some mouth-watering recipes I will have to try in the future but she was wondering about dog cookies.As I was lying on the couch, literally holding my belly, after an uncharacteristic binge of sweets, I wished that some of the $30 I left at Bouchon had been for the dog treats, if nothing else to limit my gastric damage.

It was Sherry Yard, of Spago’s fame, who inspired me to bake cookies for Ottie and other dogs at large. Easy and tasty (or so he says), they can be packaged and become inexpensive and cute gifts for any dog lover.

The original recipe can be found in Sherry Yard’s “Desserts by the Yard” (which I would recommend for many more reasons other than dog treats) and I sometimes modify it to include oats or peanut butter. The dough can be made by hand and will be very stiff.

RECIPE – yields about 24 large cookies

2 Eggs

1T Canola Oil

1 T Peanut Butter or Honey

3/4 C Low Sodium Chicken Stock

3 C Whole Wheat Flour

1/2 C Cornmeal or 1/4 C quick-cooking oats

 

  1. Whisk the eggs, honey or peanut butter, canola oil and chicken stock. Add half the flour and mix until incorporated. Add the rest of the flour and the cornmeal or oats. Knead the dough – it will be very stiff. Cover in plastic and refrigerate for an hour.
  2. Lightly flour your work surface and roll the dough to 1/2” thickness. If you have bone shaped cookie cutters, it’s a good time to use them. Otherwise use any other shape. Re-roll the scraps until all the dough has been used.
  3. Place the cookies on 2 parchment lined baking sheets and bake in the lower third of the oven at 350F. If you wish, you can egg wash them prior to baking but your dog won’t care or notice whether his treats are shiny or not.
  4. Rotate the sheets after about 12 minutes and bake for a total of about 20 minutes, until nicely browned.
  5. Let cool and serve within 2 days or, else, store them in the fridge.

 

5 Comments

Filed under baking, pets

5 responses to “HOME MADE DOG TREATS

  1. ci

    you are not mad. Recently my friend B., who’s a vet, decided to let her dog have puppies. The people who own the other dog, the male mate, wanted to throw a party for the happy couple as a sort of wedding!!!! Go figure!!!!!!!!
    You see, there’s nothing wrong with you my friend

  2. Lin

    Thank you for the recipe! We made 2 batches per your recipe (sans egg wash) and one batch with agave syrup instead of peanut butter and did an egg wash.

    This was for an almost 13 yr old’s fundraising project @ our local farmers market. (She’s raising funds to pay entry fees to the 2012 Arabian Youth National Horseshow). We made large, med and small bones. The small bones turned out the “prettiest” and the agave was very popular with the pet parents – maybe because the egg was and I did a better job on rolling\cutting by the last batch. Only one “very picky dog” (a bloody 165lb great dane) turned down the treat samples.

    We turned away at least 10 potential customers because their dogs had food allergies – so we are going to do a gluten-free, corn free and maybe egg free batch next week.

    The batch you have in the photo – is that with 1\2 thick dough? I think I rolled the dough too thinly and didn’t “cut” designs into the dough (couldn’t get to your blog due to the power outage)

    What do you think of added shredded carrots (for an agave batch)?

    You don’t have a recipe for horse treats\cookies?

    I just omitted my smiley face.

    Lin

  3. The cookies in the photo are really thick , about 1/2″ but it doesn’t really matter. I think carrots would be a nice addition but they will add some moisture which means you might have a hard time keeping them to hold their shape. As to horses, I might need to research a bit (and ask my horse neighbours…)

  4. Taylor H.

    Hi Claudia. I love your dog cookies! I have used 2 tbsp of peanut butter and the dogs love them! I have been selling them at our local farmers market and have done really well with them. One question. My mom had and idea for sessional flavors like pumpkin, cheese, bacon, etc. If we do that what would be a good proportion for doing that?

  5. Hi Taylor, I am so glad you are having success with the cookies. You can add 1/4 C of bacon or cheese and take away the same amount of cornmeal or oatmeal and you should be fine. You can add up to 4 tablespoons of pumpkin puree but it will make the batter moister and it might be harder to hold its shape when you bake it. But please do let me know. Half the fun is experimenting. Can I share the picture Aisling sent me on my blog?

Leave a Reply

