“SABAYON” SALAD DRESSING

My jazzed up salad

When it comes to dressing my salad, I am a bit of a conservative, sticking to olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. I loathe vinaigrettes laden with garlic and I am not enamored of anything too mustard-y. But I am trying to expand my horizons and, recently, I fell in love with raspberry vinaigrette and an apple cider.

I wasn’t planning on blogging about this at all, which is why I didn’t start taking pictures until half-way through but, inspired by a David Tanis recipe that appeared in the Times several weeks back, I made what I call “sabayon” dressing – a creamy, egg based dressing made over the stove like a sabayon. It is so good that, besides drizzling it over my salad, I ended up spreading it on toast.

RECIPE

1/4 C Heavy Cream

2 Egg Yolks

1 T White wine vinegar

1 T Lemon juice

1 ts Dijon mustard

Pinch of cayenne pepper

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 T XVOO

  1. Heat the cream in a small pot but do not let it boil. Take off the heat.
  2. In a stainless steel bowl (or other heat proof small bowl) combine egg yolks, vinegar and lemon juice. Whisk thoroughly. Add the Dijon mustard, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper.
  3. Place the bowl over a bain marie and, whisking constantly, add the cream. Keep on whisking until the mixture thickens, just like a sabayon (to make sure the eggs don’t curdle, don’t let the hot water touch the base of the bowl).
  4. Remove from heat and transfer to a cold bowl. Whisk in the olive oil and refrigerate.

This is what the end product looks like

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a Reply

