ANNAROSA’S SALSA VERDE

Back to my mother. Incredibly, there are still recipes I haven’t had in years that just pop into my mind and start a craving. My father used to love salsa verde, especially with what we call “bollito”, a mixture of boiled meats ranging from chicken to beef tongue. I would’t go near either of them: one was was too lifelike for my taste and the other too green.

Many countries have different variations of salsa verde, mostly parsley based, like the Argentinian chimichurri. I am not sure of the origins of my mother’s recipe but, the moment I remembered it, even though I wasn’t a fan as a kid, I had to have. An intercontinental phone call later, I had the list of ingredients, some of them unexpected.

I served it with fish but it goes well with anything from beef to….boiled tongue.

Start with a bunch of parsley

RECIPE – serves 3 to 4

1 bunch Parsley

1/4 c Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 T Capers

1 T Roasted Pepper, chopped (although I substituted with a fresh jalapeno for some kick)

2 to 3 Sweet and sour Italian onions in a jar – as I couldn’t find them, I caramelized a small, sweet onion

1 Boiled egg

1T Lemon juice

Salt and Pepper

 

My adorable green mixer

  1. Put all the ingredients in a blender or mixer and chop. Now, my mother much prefers to reach the same result with a good knife and a cutting board – she says the mixer makes the sauce too smooth but I felt on a lazy side and I would use any excuse to use my adorable green mixer.

    The egg was the unexpected ingredient

  2. Taste and add salt and pepper and more oil if needed.
  3. Transfer to a bowl and add the lemon juice.

All done

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under food, Italy

8 responses to “ANNAROSA’S SALSA VERDE

  1. I could eat salsa as a main dish.

  2. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! The onions and peppers are the unexpected ingredients for me. I know versions with anchovies and bread (mollica di pane). My favorite dish with a green sauce is bagna cauda from Piemonte.

  3. I will confess Brittany…I just spread it on crackers..and gulped it down. And it made me very happt!

  4. silvia

    the egg was really unexpected! go figure….

  5. Sue

    You have to do AnnaRosa’s mushroom lasagna.
    Can’t wait!

  6. Kim Robeson

    This one seems easy enough even for me to try. Maybe for brunch with eggs and toast?

Leave a Reply

