ADVENTURES IN LALA LAND – Malibu Pier Beach

Image: flowtv.org

Excellent news. If you ever doubted the Californian man, he of high cheekbones and impossibly blond hair, toned and tanned abs, carefree attitude and that I-just-woke-up-this-way kind of beauty was an invention of Hollywood surfing movies and Calvin Klein ads, let me reassure you, he does exist and doing very well.

A couple of hours spent on the Malibu Pier beach will be enough to validate my assessment. Up until a few years ago, my friend Silvia, a few days after landing in LA, would invariably ask “Can we go to that surfers’ beach?” It was best friend’s code for “I want to go see some surfer dudes before I go back to Italy”. And I happily obliged.

There are very many surfing beaches, depending on what board one uses, long or short, what kind of waves one wants, the level of difficulty and many finer points any surfer would be more than happy to discuss. But the Malibu Pier is indeed a premium spot – right in the heart of Malibu, next to the lagoon and the Colony of movie stars’ abodes fame, impossibly beautiful specimen abound, parading on the sand, black wetsuits dangling from their waist, copper skin and perfectly bleached hair from countless hours spent in the sun, gleaming teeth and chiselled cheekbones. Where do they make them exactly?

More entertaining still, it’s to watch them dance on the waves, with a grace and a lightness that probably required years of practice but seem engrained in their being. And, indeed, to spend time on such a beach doing more than just sunbathing but taking an interest in what goes on in the water (forbidden to mere swimmers to avoid hapless tourists being whacked on the head by a board) will reveal glimpses of a culture that has always been synonymous with  Southern California.

The old man, trimmed and dark, face shaded by a wide-brimmed straw hat, proudly points his granddaughter falling in the foam and his son, a renown surfing teacher, slicing the wave he has caught to alight gracefully nearly on the sand. If you have ever tried surfing, you know how hard it is to even find the balance to stand on the board, let alone becoming conversant with the waves. The most dedicated will be in the water in the middle of winter, before heading to the office, mapping storms and tides. There is a meditating aspect to surfing, way out there, far from any noise or voice, other than the clamoring of the waves, just with yourself, testing the limits of what you can do.

As to me, I never even bought a board, perfectly happy to discuss the finer points of surfing from the comfort of the beach, away from the freezing water and a step closer to understanding this uniquely Californian way of life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Los Angeles

7 responses to “ADVENTURES IN LALA LAND – Malibu Pier Beach

  1. I never learned how to surf, but for three summers, my kid enrolled in the surf camp that all his friends were in. They were taught by a guy who I like to hold up as an example of someone making a living doing what he loves – this old raddled sun-burned surf dude in his 50’s is making a good living teaching the kids of affluent Malibu, Topanga, and Palisades families how to surf. The classes met at public beach access points in Malibu, and for about four hours a day, the kids learned to surf. Moms like me would sometimes come along and lounge in the sand. It became a point of contention in Broad Beach where the celeb landowners objected to the plebes like us sullying their beach. I hear there’s a woman in Santa Monica who holds surfing lessons for older women – someday, I’m going to sign up.!

    • If you go, I’ll go. One for the blog – taking up surfing at 50….and speaking of Broad Beach, I felt particurly singled out when, one week-day morning, the only people on the beach being me and a lone surfer, the ranger fell compelled to drive in, and chase me and my dog away (I know, I am not allowed) when the bloody residents parade their dogs up and down the sand, undisturbed, all day long…

  2. I know exactly what you mean 🙂

    You forgot to mention the chiseled pecs and abs though 😉

  3. You are right…but I didn’t want to sound like an old cougar….

  4. silvia

    yessss! promise me that soon enough you’ll take me to that surfers’ beach once again. It would me sooo good right now

  5. You write so very well. I can’t believe I kept reading even it’s all men descriptions. Bwahahaha. An overflowing Abercrombie and Fitch dudes are here in California. You gotta see it to believe it. Surfing is a lot physical than it looks. I know a surfer who doesn’t go to the gym but is more leaner than those who do.

    • Thank you for the compliment. I know, I made fun of the archetypical Californian man because, as you say, you gotta see it to believe it. But surfing is indeed an amazingly physical sport with some pretty meditative qualities

Leave a Reply

